configurableCss

Headertopmenu

 
Close
Shopping Cart 0
You have no items in your shopping cart.
  • search
  • ellipses
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Fantastic
From: sandy | Date: 6/29/2015 12:16 PM
I tried one to see how it was, and it really amazing. i sliced it for sandwiches..my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Overcooked, but still tender
From: Elizabeth | Date: 7/29/2015 10:54 AM
I mistakenly cooked the ham for 4+ hours in a crockpot on high.  Surprisingly the ham was still tender!  Cooked in apple juice and mustard seed.  The ham had a strong smokey smell and flavor so be prepared for that.  The texture is a cross between a pork loin and a "regular" ham.  Will try again, being more mindful of the time and temp.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
Maybe ours was Mispackaged
From: Mary | Date: 8/20/2015 8:57 AM
We have never had a ham like this.  It was actually more like a rolled pork roast of sorts but without the extra fat to keep it moist.  First tip was it looked more like a deflated football than a ham.  It was approximately 7 inches in length and about 4 inches tops in the center, rolled and tied.  Once cooked, following the directions, it was incredibly dry and cut more like pulled pork....Very stringy and did not hold slices.   We will not be purchasing this "ham" again.

*From USWM- We are grateful for your support and honest feedback! We are sorry for your disappointment with the Petite Ham. The ham is one of our most widely featured products in original recipes created by bloggers and chefs. Many different cooking methods have been used with good results. It's a great seller and we haven't received similar feedback, so we are at a loss to explain the poor quality product as described in your review. We have credited the ham on your order. Again, our apologies and please feel free to contact us at any time if we may be of further assistance. For fastest response, you are always welcome to call or email us too! With kind regards, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Really good!
From: Marina | Date: 9/20/2015 11:14 AM
I never had ham and had no idea what to do with it at first.  I sliced it and cooked ham in the oven on low for almost 2 hours in sweet and sour sauce (made myself without salt).  It was really good.  The whole family loved it.  This time I tried to cook it as is and it was too salty to our taste.  Will order again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Not what I was expecting
From: Cyndi | Date: 10/2/2015 9:32 PM
I guess I should have read the reviews for suggestions - I did not care at all for this ham.  When sliced it didn't look like ham, it looked more like pork loin and the smokey flavoring was too overwhelming.  I ate a couple bites and that's all.  It was confusing for the cooking instructions too - on the product page it states 2-2.5 hrs - this dried it out.  I looked at the recipes listed  and they cooked only about 1 hr. (plus there's looked different color)  Maybe I just prepared wrong (cooked with unfiltered apple juice covered in foil at 350) - but don't think I will try again for the price - disappointing - I really was looking forward to the ham.

*From USWM- Thank you for trying the ham and we are sorry for your disappointment! The ham is popular year-round and a holiday tradition for many families. The suggested cooking times in the recipes vary greatly depending on your desired cooking method (oven versus slow cooker). We have credited you for the ham and again, appreciate you trying new products. Please reach out at any time if we may be of assistance. With gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Should have read all reviews ahead of purchase
From: Alexis | Date: 11/26/2015 5:50 PM
Don't get me wrong, the quality of the meat is fantastic, which I expect from US Wellness; however, it may be a misnomer calling this a "ham" as it feels more like a rolled pork loin (of which I'm not a fan).  As someone who grew up thinking any and all fat was bad, this product may work for you, but I've come to appreciate, dare I say expect, fat in in/on my meat - this had none.  Thankfully I had pork chops (purchased from this site) as a backup.  :(

USWM- We are truly very sorry that you had a bad experience with our product. Typically this product has a good amount of fat to meat ratio. In the future you can request a fattier cut of meat in the special notes box for any of your meats. This product does state in the description that it is only 2.5 pounds. Which is not a lot in regards to a ham.
Best wishes,
The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Not what I was expecting
From: Kristin | Date: 12/27/2015 10:01 AM
I made this ham for Christmas and was expecting a salty ham similar to the ones I get from my farmer's market (which are also humanely raised pork).  But, this has no bone, has a very heavy smokey flavor, is very dense, and not at all salty.  I bought three to feed our family since they are only about 2.5lbs each.  They look like little footballs and had some areas that were actually black.  Because two of the bags they came in had air in them (loose, not vacuum sealed anymore), I was worried something was wrong.  It appears they were not spoiled, just that the smoke is so heavy it creates black areas on the ham.

We roasted in a covered pan with water in the bottom to 160 degrees as suggested on the website--the hams  came out a little dry.  

They were ok, but I would not purchase again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
I Really Wanted To Like This
From: Robin | Date: 9/15/2016 12:36 PM
Super bummed. This was definitely not what I expected. It's not a ham--more like a pork loin. I followed The Domesticated Man's slow cooker to the letter. Mine was cooked in less than 90 minutes, beside being very, very bland, it was dry. The outer smoked part was really tough and just not appealing. My first and hopefully last bad experience with US Wellness meat.

USWM - Thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is a Sugar Free Petite Ham weighing in at an average of only 2.5 pounds and is without a bone, so it does cook rather quickly. We have had very successful outcomes with the recipes on the recipe tab in the product description. We are truly very sorry for the inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A little tough
From: Sheri | Date: 2/11/2017 7:15 AM
So we love ham, and were on the Whole30, so needed a ham without sugar. The flavor of this ham is good, but the meat is not at all tender. We've cooked three of them, and tried different methods, tried cooking it less, lower, etc. But it's this very compact ham (almost like it's been compressed), so no matter how we cooked it, getting a knife through is tough. We appreciate that it has no sugar, and like I said, its taste is good (so great for running through a food processor and mixing in with potatoes and twice baking) -- but for regular slicing and eating, it's not a winner.

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the sugar-free petite ham! We have refunded your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
A disappointing product.
From: AARON | Date: 2/12/2017 12:21 AM
I'm not a picky eater by any means, but I have to say, even I had a hard time eating this ham. I followed the directions as described, and the result was a very dry, tough, bland cut of ham. Maybe my particular cut was extremely lean? I'm not sure. But I couldn't eat more than a few bites. Wife felt the same way. I'm a huge USWM fan and make at least 1 bulk order a month (and will continue to do so), but sadly, I won't be ordering this again.

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the sugar-free petite ham! We have refunded your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Dry....Should have listed to other reviews before spending the money!
From: Jessica | Date: 8/16/2017 4:36 PM
My husband loves ham so I wanted to surprise him with a ham dinner since it is only the two of us. We were both very disappointed with this ham; I cooked it in the slow cooker and it still came out very dry! Definitely not worth the money; I will not be buying it again....

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the sugar-free petite ham! It is one of our best selling pork products. We have refunded your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
great for seasoning!
From: Mary Sue | Date: 11/19/2017 6:12 AM
I bought this to cut up and use to season green beans, greens, split-pea/lentil soup and many other things that don't come to mind at the moment..hmmm, cabbage!  It was wonderful for all of these, and we enjoyed some of it in sandwiches as well.  Many thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
unpalatable
From: Laurie | Date: 7/29/2019 9:59 AM
This item was completely unpalatable. It appeared to be a mishmash of shredded meat squashed into an oval shape. After covering and cooking to 160 degrees it appeared moist enough but not tender, and did not look like any kind of ham I have ever eaten. Did not smell like ham or taste like ham and could not bring ourselves to eat it--it did not have good flavor. Unappetizing. Not an item that can be sliced. Not presentable. It could be torn up perhaps for a casserole, but costs far too much to use in that manner.

*From USWM - We want to thank you for your patronage and feedback. We are sad to hear of your disappointment in your order of Mini Sugar-Free Ham - 2.5 lbs average. We never want to leave you disappointed in our product. If you would like to speak further about your order please reach out to our office at 877.383.0051 M-F 8:30a-5p CST to speak to one of our friendly customer service agents. Again, thank you for your feedback. Best of health - The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
so disappointed
From: sarah | Date: 10/13/2019 8:12 PM
I had this ham a few times in past years and it was incredible. I bought a few more this year and they are dry and crumbly no matter how I cook them. I have one more left in the freezer and I am afraid to make it. Dry and flavorless.

*From USWM - We want to thank you for your patronage and feedback. We are sad to hear of your disappointment in your order of Mini Sugar Free-Ham 2.5lbs. We never want to leave you disappointed in our product. If you would like to speak further about your order please reach out to our office at 877.383.0051 M-F 8:30a-5p CST to speak to one of our friendly customer service agents. Again, thank you for your feedback. Best of health - The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)