configurableCss

Headertopmenu

 
Close
Shopping Cart 0
You have no items in your shopping cart.
  • search
  • ellipses

Product reviews for Fresh Skin-On Pork Belly - 4 lbs

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Too Much Fat
From: Angela | Date: 3/15/2018 3:50 PM
Given the fact that I ordered pork belly I knew there would be fat. However, the fat to protein ratio was a bit off and I felt there was almost only fat on the piece I received. A bit disappointing as this is my very first order from US Wellness Meat.

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the fresh skin-on pork belly! We have issued a refund to your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/3)
Way too much fat, hardly any meat, very difficult to slice.
From: Ryan | Date: 6/22/2018 11:43 AM
As a fan of Wellness Meats' philosophy and products, I am very disappointed in this product. This product is very pricey consideringit is nearly all fat. I am on the ketogenic diet, and am in no way opposed to fat, but the ratio of fat:mat/protein on this pork belly is ridiculously unbalanced.I spent 30 minutes with a serrated steak knife trying to separate the layers of fat, fat, fat, more fat, and a little bit of meat/protein with more fat mixed in. In the end, my arms was sore and I was not satisfied with my breakfast because even the sparse amount of meat that I was able to isolate and cook still contained an ungodly amount of fat relative to any other bacon or pork belly I have tried, so my meal ended up being oxidized fat and a small amount of under-cooked meat. If you do not have an industrial-grade meat processor, I don't see how you can adequately separate this product without making a mess.

I remain a customer of Wellness Meats, but I will never again purchase this company' pork belly products.

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the the skin-on pork belly! It is a very fatty product, but we are happy to pass your feedback on to our quality control team. We have issued a refund to your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/2)
It’s bacon
From: Whitney | Date: 8/15/2018 1:02 PM
There is a good bit of fat on it but no more than any other bacon you’d get from the store, really. If you don’t have a sharp knife it will be difficult to slice, having it half frozen helps too, with anything. If you’re opposed to fat, why’re you eating bacon anyways? It’s supposed to have a good deal of fat on it and this does. If you don’t like fat bacon eat turkey bacon. Love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Delicious!
From: Eliza | Date: 8/28/2018 2:56 PM
Happy to find an easy source for skin on belly. I hung smoked mine in a barrel smoker and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Fantastic Pork Belly
From: Tram | Date: 10/6/2018 11:05 PM
First off, I’m a huge pork belly aficionado so I know good pork belly. And skin on is a must for most Asian pork belly dishes. This pork belly is delicious. The flavor and smell is noticeably better than conventional pork. YES, there is a lot of fat, as pork belly is supposed to, so I don’t understand the complaints. If you don’t want a fatty cut, get a tenderloin. This cut is huge, I made two meals for a family of five. Very happy USWM now carries this cut! Will order again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Great product
From: Dung | Date: 12/2/2018 11:42 AM
Vietnamese love to use skin on pork belly. It's hard to find a place that sells pasture raised pork that sells this. 5*.

I wish they had pork ribs cut into small chunks as Vietnamese love to cook with that too. We just can't Cut the bones ourselves....
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Very satisfactory pork belly!
From: Lynaire | Date: 3/22/2019 3:36 PM
I purchased the pork belly, expecting it to have a lot of fat, and when I received it, yes, it was fatty, but also there was much more meat than I had expected. The pork belly is delicious, and although I prefer to buy more local than this, this is the best pork belly I have had and so will continue to purchase it through US Wellness Meats. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
All fat
From: Veronica | Date: 4/8/2019 11:20 AM
I have to agree with the previous reviewers. The piece I received is nearly entirely fat. I also understand that pork belly is mostly fat, but this has practically no meat and doesn't look like the piece pictured which has quite a bit of meat.

(*From USWM) Thank you for your patronage and honest review of our Fresh Skin On Pork Belly. We agree with you, pork belly is an extremely fatty product itself and appreciates your feedback. We have populated a refund to your account for the fatty pork belly and look forward to serving you again in the future. Kindest regards and sincere gratitude!
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)