Product reviews for Beef Braunschweiger - 1 lb.

nearly perfect
I hate beef liver because of the strong taste, but I LOVE liverwurst.  This is very tasty but it has a little too much pepper taste to it.  I did like it enough to buy it  again.
From: Matthew | Date: 2/5/2015 7:57 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (7/0)
We have tried a lot of braunschweiger
This is the best. Texture is slightly harder than most, makes it easy to slice, harder to scoop or spread. Very nice taste, not too strong, haven't had an "off" batch from US Wellness yet.

We sometimes put a slice in the middle of a hamburger patty then grill it up. Amazing.

Thanks for this great product.
From: William | Date: 2/8/2015 12:08 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (6/0)
Very flavorful
This is definitely not your supermarket liverwurst.  Nice firm texture with a lot of flavor.  Easy to cut and serve with a bit of mustard-yummy!
From: Elizabeth | Date: 3/29/2015 11:31 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
Less Than Expected in All Ways
Texture is not what you typically think of when you think of liverwurst or braunschweiger. I grew up eating liverwurst with my German grandmother. I found a great natural, nitrate free liverwurst at Whole Foods that is delicious, but I wanted to take it a step further: making sure it is organically produced and grassfed. Unfortunately, I was a very disappointed by this product. The texture is completely wrong (kinda like tiny strips/pieces molded together rather than a smooth paste). It also leaked a lot when I defrosted it to eat it, which made it taste kind of like soggy meat. I believe this is probably a processing issue rather than a signature of the grassfed beef.

Also the package in the photo makes it look like you're getting a huge log of it, but when I got it, it was barely bigger than the one I get at WF for half the price. I should have looked at the ounces on my WF variety to compare. So, my fault in a way, but also an advertising issue (there should be a photo of the actual size piece you get). I realize I am paying more for grassfed nutrients, which I am fine with, but I didn't realize it would be 50% more and for a product that just doesn't taste like it should. It's actually unpleasant for me to eat. Unfortunately, I got four of them, so I've got to suffer a bit more since they were spendy and there is no way I'm not eating them now that I've got them! I will try heating them like the above reviewer enjoys, but that is not how it is normally eaten.

Also, in the first piece I ate, I found a bone/hard cartilage fragment.
I think if they had better machinery for grinding the meat, this could be a superb product, and I wouldn't mind the price AS much.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE US Wellness Meats' ideology, and I will continue to purchase other items from them, but unless they upgrade to a better grinding process, I will not purchase this product again, which is a shame because I was so excited to try it for so long, being a life-long lover of liverwurst & braunschweiger. 2 out of 5 stars for it being grassfed and organic, but negative stars for everything else.

*From USWM- Thank you for supporting us and trying new products! We are sorry for your disappointment with the organ sausages. We have issued a refund to your credit card for the 2 packages of Braunschweiger and 2 packages of Liverwurst on your order. Our blog link explains the characteristics and thawing tips for the organ sausages: http://blog.grasslandbeef.com/bid/83466/Organ-Sausages-General-Characteristics-Thawing-Tips-Storage

Our organ sausages are firmer and intended for slicing and snacking versus the spreadable/paste versions typically found in supermarkets.

We always strive to be as accurate as possible in our online descriptions and photos. These are our actual products being photographed and each organ sausage should average 1 pound.

Please reach out if we may be of further assistance! Most kindly, The US Wellness Meats Team
From: Ashley | Date: 3/29/2015 4:24 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (12/0)
Love the flavor
This is my way of eating liver.  I love this stuff.  Much better and healthier than store-bought.  To avoid any soggy defrosting:  I defrost partially on counter, enough to take the wrapper off.  Then I wrap in several layers of unbleached paper towel and put in a ziploc bag, then refrigerate until completely thawed.  Every time I use it I replace the paper towel until it no longer sweats.  This works for me and it cuts nicely and texture is fine.
From: Sara | Date: 7/13/2015 12:52 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (7/0)
Unbelievably good
I am a braunshweiger lover from way back. I've never tasted anything as good as this one. At first, I hesitated at the price, but after the first bite I was hooked! Living in a small rural area in eastern Oregon I depend on US Wellness to supply all the grassfed meats and cheese I cannot get here. I haven't been disappointed yet.
From: Sharron | Date: 9/20/2015 12:13 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/0)
A nice treat for the kids
My kids don't know that braunschweiger is liver but they really like this product. The texture is a bit hard for them to chew, it isn't smooth like I remember the stuff I ate as a kid (the not great stuff still found in grocery stores today) but they manage it fine if I put some ketchup on it. I like it as a change for the kids and slice it all up, freeze it and pull out a few slices at a time.
From: Christine | Date: 9/20/2015 8:58 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
Tasty and Nutritious
This is the easiest way to eat liver.  I love it on salads or mixed in with some cooked vegetables.  Very tasty.  Not sure if I will go back to the old liver and onions when this taste way better and is so easy.  Just chop it up and eat it.
From: Trisha | Date: 9/21/2015 10:35 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
Best ever
I love this stuff. I fry it with my eggs and just eat as a snack with crackers.
From: Elizabeth | Date: 9/22/2015 10:23 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
Beef Liver that Tastes Amazing
I was not able to find any available great-tasting Braunschweiger out there that does not have some form of sugar and preservatives, let alone from an unknown, grain stuffed source.

US Wellness Meats makes liver taste good without me spending the time adding tons of bacon/fat and onions and butter.  I get my daily needed dose of Vitamin A, and my toddlers love it too.  I have it with an egg, or on top of ground beef (this is if I don't eat a cut straight from the package).

I cannot recommend this enough.  I have yet to be able to recreate the Braunschweiger.  I think I might stop trying.  
From: Kristen | Date: 9/22/2015 2:50 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Delicious!
Fabulous way to incorporate liver into the diet in an easy on-the-go measure.  It's very versatile and not overpowering in its "liveriness".  It's actually delicious!  Highly recommended.
From: Louise | Date: 10/4/2015 8:46 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
one of my favorite foods anywhere
This is totally tasty and gives me the liver that I know I need. Good hot or cold.  The Liverwurst is good too.
From: Beverly | Date: 11/14/2015 7:23 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Be aware it has strong smell
Purchased 2 for myself and 1 for my son in separate order (for his Birthday). Head cheese and Liverwurst in order was good-like it, BBQ rib fab. Braunschweiger has very strong organ/liver meat smell, I can't get over it. Neither myself or my son can finish it. I ordered because of glowing reviews here and non mentioned strong smell. I thought there should be one review that mention this so some people are not surprised.

USWM- We are truly very sorry you had a bad experience with our product. We realize this product is not for everyone. This product can have a strong smell or taste because it does contain Beef Liver. This is not going to be as bland as the products you would buy in the grocery store.

Kind wishes,
The US Wellness Meats Team
From: Jessica | Date: 1/28/2016 2:08 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Cartilage/Gristle Issue
I was initially excited to find this, since I grew up eating braunschweiger and wanted a snack meat to consume on my Whole30.  The flavor is excellent, texture could better as I also prefer a more traditional paste.

However, within the very first bite, I chomped on a large piece of gristle; GROSS.. a surefire way to kill my appetite from wanting to eat anymore.  And each piece I slice off, continue to find more.  The only way I can continue eating it is to cut a slice into tiny pieces and dissect each piece looking for additional gristle.

So over all I am a bit disappointed in this product due to the gristle issue, and probably won't be ordering this again.  Please fix this!
From: Kimberly | Date: 3/5/2016 2:40 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Very tasty!
I used to eat Braunschweiger as a kid - mom would make sandwiches with it.  Of course, once I figured out what was in it, I stopped eating it.  Now I am trying to eat a healthier and varied diet.  Checked out the "store" braunschweiger, but it is all filled with nitrates.  A friend recommended US Wellness Meats.  Ordered the braunschweiger and liverwurst.  Both are excellent!  Tastes just like I remember.  I will partly-thaw the rolls, then slice them, wrap in parchment paper, and refreeze two slices to a small bag.  I defrost the small portions as needed.  I will eat it plain.  Have not had any problems with texture or strong odor.  Would absolutely recommend this to anyone!  The liverwurst has a slightly stronger taste, but that is to be expected with the kidneys in the mix.
From: Jennifer | Date: 4/26/2016 6:13 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very tasty!
I used to eat Braunschweiger as a kid - mom would make sandwiches with it.  Of course, once I figured out what was in it, I stopped eating it.  Now I am trying to eat a healthier and varied diet.  Checked out the "store" braunschweiger, but it is all filled with nitrates.  A friend recommended US Wellness Meats.  Ordered the braunschweiger and liverwurst.  Both are excellent!  Tastes just like I remember.  I will partly-thaw the rolls, then slice them, wrap in parchment paper, and refreeze two slices to a small bag.  I defrost the small portions as needed.  I will eat it plain.  Have not had any problems with texture or strong odor.  Would absolutely recommend this to anyone!  The liverwurst has a slightly stronger taste, but that is to be expected with the kidneys in the mix.
From: Jennifer | Date: 4/26/2016 6:14 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Heavenly
Plain, with cheese, mustard...and if you have  some see-thru Danish Rye,that'll do, too. I love it as much as my dog does. I bring it to work and the guys go thru it like it's vanilla ice cream.
From: grant | Date: 9/9/2016 11:16 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Perfect!
I would have reviewed this after the first bite but I couldn't wait for more!  I loved Braunshweiger as a child and haven't had any in years.  I rarely eat anything that is so good that I have to tell someone, but this is THAT GOOD!.  Thank you for making a great product!  I put the rest in the freezer before I left for work this morning and will be getting it back out soon.  
From: Lindsey | Date: 10/11/2016 12:07 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Delicious
The smell and taste take be back to being a kid. This is a delicious product, can't wait to eat more. One of my kids loved it, other kid wasn't a fan, but maybe over time. Very mild liver taste.
From: Sarah | Date: 12/29/2016 4:08 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
What do you know . . . liver DOES taste good!
Absolutely delicious!  I'll be ordering again, and again, and again.  
From: Kathy | Date: 1/10/2017 1:21 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Surprisingly delicious
Turns out organ meats aren't something you have to choke down just because they're good for you. This Braunschweiger has incredible flavor- even the kids love it plain with a little mustard to dip it in or added to scrambled eggs. Too easy. Same goes for the liverwurst and head cheese- all very good.
From: Robert | Date: 1/21/2017 8:52 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
  • Bad
  • Excellent