Awesom Paleo/blood type O quick meal
To stay thin, I cannot eat carbs and cereal bars. Meat and vegetables for me keep me thin and energetic. These bars I sometimes live off of when I'm in a hurry. They travel and keep well. And its like an all natural beef pate in a travel tube that tastes great to me. They take the hunger edge off without resorting to garbage food snacks. I can spread it on rice crackers for variation. LOVE THEM.
From: Heather | Date: 8/19/2015 11:36 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
I look forward to pemmican for breakfast each morning!
Every morning, I move one pemmican stick from the freezer to the refrigerator.  The next morning, I take it out of the refrigerator and leave it on the counter at room temperature for about twenty minutes until it reaches that perfect consistency.  Mmmm!  It keeps me from feeling hungry before lunch time.  I like that it is portable, so if I am in a hurry, I can eat it in the car.  It is an acquired taste, however.  Although it looks like a sausage, it has the soft consistency of fat which initially comes as a surprise.  Once you get used to it, the taste is totally cravable!
From: Beverlee | Date: 9/20/2015 8:17 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
First time buyer/tryer
I tried pemmican for the first time. I took one in my lunch box because in the afternoon and driving home I get so hungry.  This was a good choice, as I could only eat half of a stick until I was full.  I was worried about it tasting like organ meats a lot, but the flavor is masked and I know I am eating something good for my body.  It provided a lot of energy and kept me full.  Would order again....
From: christie | Date: 9/21/2015 11:49 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (4/0)
Delicious!
I am 18 years old and have been Paleo since I was 15 by my own choice. These are the perfect snack, once you accept that you are taking a bite of primarily fat. Tasty and convenient, I will definitely buy this again.
From: Nicole | Date: 9/21/2015 2:07 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Great low carb snack
I eat these in the morning and I'm good till about lunch time.
From: Andrew W | Date: 9/22/2015 8:19 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
wrong descriptions but amazing product! i use regular.
I get the regular (no sweetener or fruit) and it is the best "fast food" I've ever had!  Convenient, easy to store, easier to eat.  And it is grass fed!!  LOVE IT.
From: Ana | Date: 9/27/2015 10:34 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Keto Soylent
As someone who does a very low carb diet (keto) this is the ultimate  go to calories supplement, hence the comparison the soylent is only in the sense of convenience.

I generally only make 2 meals a day and I fill the rest of the calories up with pemmican or eating out. Its a super flexible plan that makes eating the diet that makes me feel best very effortless to maintain. Otherwise it can be difficult to get enough fat and easy to overeat on the protein. The fat protein ration is perfect.

I don't get the honey and cherry free version to avoid carbs.  However, I do tolerate a few carbs and would love a version that included only a little bit of dried cherries and no honey. ~1g net carbs would be perfect and help with the blandness of the pemmican. Pemmican is very satisfying and in no way un-tasty, but its also very bland and boring, I wouldn't want to eat it exclusively.

Also, given that the meat is cooked and dried, there is some nutrient loss which dried fruits may help with. I think a little bit of dried fruits might go a long way and help with preservation.
From: Patrick | Date: 9/27/2015 8:44 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Just tried pemmican for the first time and I love it!
I included a plain pemmican stick in my recent meat order to see if it was something I may want to have for breakfast, as I stick more to a Paleo/Primal way of eating and don't eat the typical breakfast foods other than bacon & eggs. So the order arrived today, and I was able to try the pemmican. I love it, so does my dog. :) The other good thing is, I will likely never need chap stick again, if I have one of these for breakfast every day! I'm thinking pemmican, a few nuts, & maybe a handfull of blueberries for breakfast.
From: Jesse | Date: 6/15/2016 3:29 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Eh
I just tried this for the first time, and I am not a fan. The flavor is very good, and tastes like other cured meats I've had. However I don't like the texture, which is very mushy almost like paste, stuffed inside a casing. I will be feeding it to the dogs as treats. I'll be trying the jerky next time instead.
From: Heather | Date: 7/4/2016 3:12 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
YUM
For those who are new to paleo or to eating the way folks naturally used to eat, the flavor of this pemmican may seem strange. I think I may have tried one of these a few years ago and wasn't that impressed. Of course, after a period of time eating healthy my taste buds changed and so I thought I'd give this pemmican another try. I'm so glad i did. This is so delicious. I got the one without fruit or honey and it's really nice. I like to leave it out on the counter to come to room temperature and it's awesome. No wonder others are eating this for breakfast. My hubby likes it too. This is now gonna be a standard order for our house from US Wellness Meats. All this deliciousness and healthy too. :)
From: Renee | Date: 9/1/2016 4:09 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Not good!
I ordered at least 5 of these to help bring my order up to the required shipping weight and price. I wish I had used other items to do so because I ended up throwing these out. The first bite was pretty bad. It is mealy and felt as if it dissolved in my mouth. The texture was weird. I hate wasting anything so I ended up taking a few more bites. With each bite I would ask myself "why are you torturing yourself!" Many hours after I finally decided to give them up for a complete loss and hours after my last bite, I continued to taste the pemmican. Even after I ate a completely full meal, I continued to have the flavor revisit me. Ever thing else in my order was great but these I will not order again.

*From USW Meats- We are sorry for your disappointment with the pemmican! It is one of our best selling products. The pemmican texture is very rich and can be an acquired taste for some. We have refunded your card and welcome your honest feedback at any time. With sincere gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
From: Frank | Date: 1/7/2017 10:01 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love the sticks very convenient!
I am a Nutritionist.    I always have a ice cooler in my Vehicle when I travel. This is to have food in my car with me at all times, so when I do get hungry I choose to eat healthy :) The sticks are wonderful to travel with and go!  What a time saver the sticks are!
There have been so many times I have not wanted to cook for the next few days and with Pemmican that is possible!!      It tastes wonderful if you are already use to consuming healthy nutritious food. So when I saw reviews good & bad I needed to try Pemmican for myself.  Consistency of Pemmican is close to a hard nut butter. Pemmican has a wonderful flavor and is easy, just peal plastic off stick. I feel there is not much of a taste difference between the plain or cherry Pemmican they both taste very similar.  Pemmican receives an A++++ and I will order again!!           Thank you for all your hard work and dedication in making healthy nutritious meat products for consumers.
From: Pamela | Date: 2/11/2017 5:16 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
  • Bad
  • Excellent