Product reviews for Beef Flat Iron Steaks

horrible
this is my first time ordering from this company.  the first thing we made from the order are these flat iron steaks.  one of the worst steaks ive ever had.  full of gristle and tough as shoe leather.  i had to laugh when i read the description that said something about how tender they were.  i am completely pissed off right now.  the flat iron steaks i buy at my local grocers are 10 times better and half the price.  highly disappointed.  

*From USWM: We appreciate your honest feedback and are very sorry for your disappointment. We always stand behind our products. A full refund has been issued to you for the disappointing Beef Flat Iron Steaks. This value cut works best with marinades, tenderizing and gentle cooking. Again, we apologize for your disappointing experience. Please feel free to reach out to us at any time if we may be of assistance. With gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
From: kellie | Date: 4/11/2015 10:38 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
grassfed cooking technique
Most grassfed meats need to be seared quickly , cooked fast and eaten on the rare side
From: Christa | Date: 4/14/2015 11:40 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Satisfied
We grilled our flat irons and were very pleased. They were tender and moist. We'll order these again.
From: Linda | Date: 4/16/2015 6:55 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
surprisingly tender
I pan-seared these steaks, and was impressed by how tender they were!
From: Erica | Date: 4/20/2015 11:22 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Sous-vide
This is actually my favorite steak from US Wellness.  I have recently been using an immersion sous-vide cooker with great success.   The steaks are vacuum sealed in a cooking grade plastic bag and cooked for a long period of time at a low temperature in a water bath.  I then remove the steaks when I am ready and quickly sear and serve.  Tender and delicious and a good amount of meat for the price!  Whoever gave these 1 star did not cook them properly.
From: Sean | Date: 5/14/2015 5:49 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Great Flavor, Great Price
I've been ordering these monthly for nearly three years, they're full of flavor and reasonably priced.

As far as the tenderness, they can be on the chewy side since it comes from the chuck/shoulder, which is a tougher section of beef. These also have an unusual cut in that they're sliced halfway down the center where the sinew has been removed.

I agree that these steaks are best cooked over fairly high heat and served medium rare.
From: William | Date: 9/22/2015 12:32 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Tasty and tender.
Seasoned with salt, pepper, granulated garlic and cooked to medium rare. The steaks melted in our mouths. I was pleasantly surprised considering what I had heard about grass fed beef being tougher. Will buy again.
From: Eric | Date: 8/21/2016 3:05 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Tasty but tough
I ordered these steaks and they had a very thick piece of tendon through them, which was impossible to cut. The meet was good but very difficult to eat.

USWM- We appreciate your honest feedback and are very sorry for your disappointment. We always stand behind our products. A full refund has been issued to you for the disappointing Beef Flat Iron Steaks. This value cut works best with marinades, tenderizing and gentle cooking. Again, we apologize for your disappointing experience. Please feel free to reach out to us at any time if we may be of assistance.

With gratitude,
The US Wellness Meats Team
From: alina | Date: 10/19/2016 4:09 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Grandmas best
I was introduced to this cut of beef as a child. My grandmother would sear them and then "pot" them. Basically cooking them like pot roast. They are melt in your mouth tender, served with mashed potatoes and green beans in sour cream (another German dish). This method guarantees a delicious meal. Sorry for the people who don't know how to cook the cut.
From: Lucille | Date: 12/4/2016 6:31 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
  • Bad
  • Excellent