Italian???
So disappointed. These taste NOTHING like an Italian sausage. There are no discernible flavorings or seasoning, except an acrid smokey taste. More like a bland kielbasa sausage with way too much smokey flavor. It is fully cooked, not the plump, juicy sausage pictured on the product description! I write this not to be overly harsh or critical, but because as someone on a Paleo diet, I am willing to spend extra money for high quality meat products, but definitely can't afford to waste it on products like this!

*From USWM- Thank you for supporting us and taking the time to share your honest feedback! We are sorry for your disappointment with the Italian Pork Sausages. We have been enjoying the Pork Sausages for years and were very happy with the upgrade to a sugar free version! We sampled the sausages prior to production and introducing the new variety to our customers.  Again, we are sorry for your disappointment. We have issued a refund to your credit card for this package. Please feel free to reach out to us at any time with feedback or concerns. Kindest regards, The US Wellness Meats Team
From: Erica | Date: 4/15/2015 2:58 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (13/0)
Agree with previous reviewer
I'm normally really impressed with the us wellness meats offerings. Our family is Paleo, so having a solid source for sugar-free, responsibly-farmed meat has been wonderful.

That said, I have to agree with the other reviewer for this particular product. We'd love to have an Italian sausage that we could purchase, but bland, over-smoked kielbasa is a pretty accurate comparison for this product. It's strange that it misses the mark so much, which is why I thought I'd add my 2 cents. We love your breakfast sausage, hot dogs and bacon, and the flavors of all of these are pretty true to expectations. Please consider changing up this recipe!!

*From USWM: We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback (good and bad)! We encourage you to keep trying our options, as we always stand behind our products. Our small management team compiles feedback (emails, calls, staff reports and online reviews) to monitor quality control and evaluate possible recipe changes. There are slight variations between batches, so you may wish to try another package again in a few months. We have issued customer reward points for the Italian Pork Sausages you ordered. Please contact us if we may be of further assistance. With gratitude, The US Wellness Meats Team
From: Gwendolyn | Date: 4/26/2015 10:23 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (6/0)
Italian or not they're great
Typically I don't leave reviews but I was shocked that these had less than two stars! I'm not an expert on Italian sausage so I'm unsure how it compares, but regardless I love the flavor. I fry them up in my pan to eat solo or cut them up to use them in casseroles.
From: Stephanie | Date: 6/6/2015 6:25 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Sugar free
I have to limit my sugar and products like this give me more options, finally can eat healthy sausages, please don't change the recipe. Love all you sausages. I'm disappointed I did not find the polish, are you still selling it?

*From USW Meats- Thank you for your kind words! We are big fans of the Sugar Free Sausages too. We offer Sugar Free Polish versions in both beef (links and sliders) and pork varieties. The easiest way to locate these on the website may be to type "polish" in the search box. Please reach out if we may help! Cheery regards, The US Wellness Meats Team
From: Anastassia | Date: 6/7/2015 12:57 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
I love these
I'm also not an expert on Italian anything.  I bought the Italian pork sausages to try something new.  My 81-yr old mother and I find these tasty pan-fried in a little ghee.  I might have tried boiling them the first time; I think they'd be blander that way.  

I thought these would be a little too spicy for her, but my mother is fine with them.

I've ordered these a couple of times over the last year or so, and will continue as long as they stay this tasty.  Hard to please everyone, so try one package on sale and see how they taste to you.  You won't have wasted your money since, whether you like them or not, you've still paid for pork raised the optimal way and are getting high-quality meat.
From: Leslie | Date: 8/4/2015 5:50 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Hot dog with fennel
These are not Italian sausages by a long shot. The only seasoning in common with an Italian sausage would be fennel. This is more like a smoked sausage or a heartier, greasier hot dog. If you want something to serve with sauerkraut, this is it, but don't even think about making a marinara sauce with this or putting it anywhere near pasta.

Don't get me wrong, they're not BAD. But don't expect to get a traditional Italian sausage. I do appreciate that they are grass-fed, but  they certainly weren't what I initially expected. My mother loves them on a bun with sauerkraut, but I repeat: NOT AN ITALIAN SAUSAGE. Might just be a case of mislabeling. Maybe if they were called something else, people wouldn't be unpleasantly surprised.

*From USW Meats- We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us! We are sorry for your disappointment. The pastured, fully cooked Pork Sausages are a quick heat and serve product we like to keep on hand. We apologize that they came in under expectations. We have issued a credit for the Pork Sausage on last year's order. We encourage you to keep trying new items, as we are always happy to credit any products you are not fully satisfied with for any reason. Cheery regards, The US Wellness Meats Team
From: Kate | Date: 8/7/2015 11:16 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
TERRIBLE
I was so excited to receive these, so I could put them into my homemade marinara sauce. First of all, they are PRECOOKED. They are NOT raw. They resemble something like a bad kielbasa. If you want something for the grill, I recommend the sugar free bratwurst which grill up nicely. Oh well, I tried. But largely a waste of money.

*USWM- We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with this product. I do see that we have issued you a refund for the product. In the product description on the website it states, Our fully cooked Sugar Free Italian Pork Sausages are the perfect addition to casseroles or gumbo! We do try to be as accurate as possible in our descriptions online. If you feel there is anything else we can do for you regarding this matter please feel free to reach out to us! Warmest regards!
Your US Wellness Meats Team
From: Jennifer | Date: 11/11/2015 2:27 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
so delicious!
These are my favorite sausages. I understand the negative reviews because they DO taste more like kielbasa than italian sausage but they are so tasty and flavorful. We grill them up all summer long!
From: Charissa | Date: 5/2/2016 3:55 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
  • Bad
  • Excellent